Four days in Singapore

I hope you like my next country as much as I do. This week I flew just down south to Singapore.

The port of Singapore was founded on Feb. 6, 1819 by a British guy named Raffles; 194 years and one day later, I was born! It’s really small. About 331 Singapores could fit into Montana. Yet, it has more than five million people living there, five 20150208_171914times that of Montana! I was lucky to go and can’t wait to tell you all about the trip! We took a short 45 minute plane ride from KL. When we got to Singapore, we took the subway to our hotel. Shortly after, we walked to Chinatown. It was loud and busy, like a mob. There are little stalls that are on both sides of the street. Chinese New Year is coming up and almost every stall was filled with Chinese New Year decorations. We looked around Chinatown and got dinner at a hawker stall. I had Hainanese food, steamed chicken and rice.

At about 8 pm, we hopped back on the subway to go to the Singapore Flyer. The Singapore Flyer is a giant Ferris wheel, the biggest in the world! It may look awesome, but it only goes half a mile an hour. It was completely boring! I call it the Singapore Snoozer.

20150208_194930_LLSThe next day, we tackled Little India. It was like Chinatown but not as busy. And they sell food and things from India, hence the name. It was interesting, but I was really hot and tired so we took a bus tour around Singapore. It was really fun because we got to sit up on the open air second story. 20150208_195224_LLSThe bus dropped us off at Gardens by the Bay, a giant garden with huge, glowing trees in the center. I liked the Colonial Garden because I got to smell the plants brought over by the British, like pepper, coffee and cocoa.

On our third day, we went to the Singapore Zoo. There are 2,800 animals at the park! Right as we got there, we saw the 20150210_163843 2zookeepers feeding the monkeys and we followed along to watch some of the other animals get fed too: otters, tapirs and hippos. Then we saw the elephant show. The elephants did a lot of cool things, like lifting logs and crushing coconuts. After that, we went over to the night safari. We had dinner and watched a fire show with fire jugglers. The Night Safari was like the zoo, but for all nocturnal animals. 20150210_141448 2After dinner, we went to the amphitheater and saw the animal show. There were otters who were trained to recycle! Then we strolled along the cement paths, watching the animals. My favorite part was the bat house. There were bats all over the place. And they were huge, like a foot long, hanging just a meter over us, gripping the nets upside down, and sleeping. We were tired of walking at this point, so hopped on a tram to the entrance. As we took it back, we saw more animals like tapirs, giraffes, and hippos. It was really unique to see all the nocturnal animals.

20150211_135316 2On our last full day, we took the monorail to Sentosa Island, which is basically a giant theme park.  First we went to the S.E.A Aquarium. I’m really glad we went. There are several domed passage ways with fish swimming all around. There are over 800 species making up more than 100,000 marine animals there. I really liked seeing the hammerhead sharks swimming around the last domed passageway. From there, we went to the MegaZip Adventure Park where I did the ClimbMax. It’s a giant ropes course 16.5 feet off the ground 20150211_162302 2that you have to work your way through. It was really, really awesome and I want to go back and do the second level that’s 33 feet off the ground! I enjoyed my trip to Singapore. Sentosa Island was by far my favorite. I didn’t like Chinatown, it was too busy for me, and now I’m happy to be “home.” I can’t wait for you to see my next blog post – all about Chinese New Year! Bye for now! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Four days in Singapore

  1. Mamu says:

    Singapore sounds amazing! I want to hear more about what the ClimbMax felt like. 16.5′ is high! Don’t tell me about the 33′ one until after you’ve done it, ok? 😀
    xoxox ps How did your dad do with the bats??????

    Like

  2. Aunt Julie says:

    Oh my, that is a lot of people in one place! I agree with you….to busy and crowded. It all sounds wonderful and what a learning experience! I think the monkeys are everywhere! I also like the Ferris wheel that you thought was boring! I bet you could see along way tho! I would NOT have liked the Bats…Did your Dad like them? Ha! Cant wait to hear about Chinese New Year. You will have to compare notes with Sean when you get back. He was in China last year during Chinese New Year. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Debbie Anderson says:

    Wonderful write up Charlie – I really want to go ! One go Kims coworkers is in Singapore and there is a branch office there so mayne she will get to go there also ! >

    Like

  4. Grandma Shirley says:

    wow , you saw a lot in just 4 days ! The Aquarium sounds like a super fun place to go…and I loved the photo of the lighted trees…maybe you’ll be able to go back to Singapore once again while you are in K.L. Thanks Charlie.

    Like

  5. Neh says:

    So Charlie, I’ve been watching this tv program called Downton Abbey on public television since the beginning of the year. I’m hooked — so I look forward to watching it every Sunday night. I’m having the same experience with your blog. I look forward every week to reading “Kid in KL”.

    Your nocturnal visit to the zoo in Singapore reminded me of our visit to the Seattle Zoo to see the Christmas lights. Visiting the zoo at night is a different experience — although I definitely would prefer the warmth of a Singaporean evening.

    That photo of you on the zip line was a surprise — since I hadn’t heard that you had gone to one. Did anyone else in the family try the zip line? — how about Molly?

    Like

  6. Tor says:

    First of all Charlie, what an incredible blog. It looks like you’re having quite an experience. That Ferris wheel sounds down right terrifying – for it to be both the tallest and slowest in the world – that sounds like my worst nightmare. You must not be afraid of heights… not like your big tough Uncle.

    How are the monkeys doing? That video your Momma posted that had the wild monkeys running around was one of the greatest/strangest things I have ever seen on social media. Do those little guys really roam around so freely like that? They kind of remind of the packs of rabid dogs that used to wander the streets of Lima, Peru – only cuter…

    It looks like you’re having an amazing experience over there little man – how’s the food? By the way, Hannah says hello and wants to know how baby Molly is doing.
    I’ve got the week off so I’ll be back periodically over the next couple days to check you out – say hi to the fam for me!

    Like

    • You would have hated the ferris wheel. My mom thought she’d be scared but she was too bored to be scared. I hope I see more monkeys! The food is good, but I really, really, really miss spaghetti! Molly is talking a lot more. She calls monkeys “mungs.” Tell Hannah hi!

      Like

Leave a comment